October 16, 2021

Association of Research Libraries Board of Directors 2021–2022 Elected by ARL Membership; K. Matthew Dames Begins One-Year Term as President of ARL

From the Association of Research Libraries:

K. Matthew Dames, image courtesy of University of Notre Dame

The Association of Research Libraries (ARL) elected its 2021–2022 Board of Directors on October 5 during the Fall 2021 Association Meeting. At the end of the meeting on October 6, K. Matthew Dames, the Edward H. Arnold University Librarian at the University of Notre Dame, began a one-year term as president of ARL. The president serves on the Executive Committee of the Board of Directors, along with the vice president/president-elect, past president, and treasurer.

“It is an honor and a privilege to begin my term as ARL’s 61st president. I look forward to collaborating with all our key stakeholders and constituencies to increase the value we bring to our members. I also look forward to broadening the Association’s commitment to diversify the profession and make it more equitable, especially during this critical juncture in our society,” said Edward H. Arnold University Librarian K. Matthew Dames.

Dames succeeds John Culshaw, the Jack B. King University Librarian at the University of Iowa, as ARL president. Culshaw continues to serve as a member of both the Board of Directors and the Executive Committee as past president through the Association’s next Fall Meeting, ending October 19, 2022.

During the meeting this week, the Association’s membership ratified the Board’s election of Susan Parker as ARL vice president/president-elect for a one-year term. Parker, university librarian at The University of British Columbia, will become ARL president on October 19, 2022.

The membership also ratified the Board’s election of Bob Fox, dean of University Libraries at the University of Louisville, as ARL treasurer for a three-year term 2021–2024.

Four new Board members were elected by the membership to serve three-year terms 2021–2024: Jon E. Cawthorne, dean, University Library System and School of Information Sciences, Wayne State University; Melissa Just, dean, University Library, University of Saskatchewan; Lisa O’Hara, vice-provost (Libraries) and university librarian, University of Manitoba; and Lorelei Tanji, university librarian, University of California, Irvine.

Continuing elected members of the Board are: Trevor A. Dawes (2020–2023), vice provost, Libraries and Museums, and May Morris University Librarian, University of Delaware; Joe Lucia (2019–2022), dean, University Libraries, Temple University; Robert McDonald (2020–2023), dean, University Libraries, and senior vice provost, Online Education, University of Colorado Boulder; and Sarah Pritchard (2019–2022), dean, Libraries, and Charles Deering McCormick University Librarian, Northwestern University.

Also continuing to serve on the Board and Executive Committee is Mary Lee Kennedy (2018–  ), ARL executive director, in an ex officio, non-voting capacity.

The Board of Directors is the governing body of the Association and represents the interests of ARL member libraries in directing the business of the Association, including establishing operating policies, budgets, and fiscal oversight; modifying the ARL mission and objectives; and representing the Association to the community.

View photo rosters of the ARL Executive Committee and Board of Directors.

Source URL

About Gary Price

Gary Price (gprice@mediasourceinc.com) is a librarian, writer, consultant, and frequent conference speaker based in the Washington D.C. metro area. Before launching INFOdocket, Price and Shirl Kennedy were the founders and senior editors at ResourceShelf and DocuTicker for 10 years. From 2006-2009 he was Director of Online Information Services at Ask.com, and is currently a contributing editor at Search Engine Land.