January 26, 2022

Five Innovative Libraries Nominated for IFLA’s Public Library of the Year Award 2021

UPDATED Images and More of the Nominated Libraries in this Report from The Guardian

From the International Federation of Library Associations (IFLA)

For the sixth time, Systematic and the International Federation of Library Associations (IFLA) presents the Public Library of the Year Award, honouring new, innovative public libraries. The jury has narrowed 32 libraries down to five nominees in the quest for this year’s winner.This year, the five finalists come from very different parts of the world:

  • Marrickville Library, Australia
  • Deichman Bjørvika – Oslo Public Library, Norway
  • Het Predikheren, Belgium
  • Ningbo New Library, China
  • Forum Groningen, Holland

The winner will be announced during IFLA’s annual congress, held online this year from 17. – 19. August and the award is presented by IFLA’s president Christine Mackenzie.

About Gary Price

Gary Price (gprice@mediasourceinc.com) is a librarian, writer, consultant, and frequent conference speaker based in the Washington D.C. metro area. Before launching INFOdocket, Price and Shirl Kennedy were the founders and senior editors at ResourceShelf and DocuTicker for 10 years. From 2006-2009 he was Director of Online Information Services at Ask.com, and is currently a contributing editor at Search Engine Land.