January 26, 2022

Association of Research Libraries (ARL) Board of Directors 2018–2019 Elected by ARL Membership

From the Association of Research Libraries (ARL):

Susan Gibbons, the Stephen F. Gates ’68 University Librarian and deputy provost for collections and scholarly communication at Yale University, began a one-year term as president of the Association of Research Libraries (ARL) on Wednesday, September 26, during the Association’s Fall 2018 Meeting in Washington, DC.

Gibbons succeeds Mary Ann Mavrinac, vice provost and the Andrew H. and Janet Dayton Neilly Dean of the University of Rochester Libraries, as ARL president. Mavrinac continues to serve as a member of both the Board of Directors and the Executive Committee as past president.

During the meeting, the Association’s membership ratified the Board’s election of Lorraine Haricombe, vice provost and director of libraries at The University of Texas at Austin, as ARL vice president/president-elect. The membership also ratified the Board’s election of Diane Parr Walker, the Edward H. Arnold University Librarian, University of Notre Dame, as ARL treasurer.

Three new Board members were elected by the membership to serve three-year terms: Bob Fox, dean of university libraries, University of Louisville; Catherine Murray-Rust, dean of libraries, Georgia Institute of Technology; and Jennifer Paustenbaugh, university librarian, Brigham Young University.

Continuing elected members of the Board are: Constantia Constantinou, H. Carton Rogers III Vice Provost and Director of the Penn Libraries, University of Pennsylvania; John Culshaw, the Jack B. King University Librarian, The University of Iowa; Vivian Lewis, university librarian, McMaster University; Adriene Lim, the Philip H. Knight Dean of Libraries, University of Oregon; and Leslie Weir, university librarian emeritus, University of Ottawa.

Also serving on the Board and Executive Committee are Austin Booth, dean of the Division of Libraries, New York University, in her role as chair of the ARL Coordinating Committee, and Mary Lee Kennedy, executive director, Association of Research Libraries.


Source Announcement

See Also: ARL Executive Committee Photo Roster

About Gary Price

Gary Price (gprice@mediasourceinc.com) is a librarian, writer, consultant, and frequent conference speaker based in the Washington D.C. metro area. Before launching INFOdocket, Price and Shirl Kennedy were the founders and senior editors at ResourceShelf and DocuTicker for 10 years. From 2006-2009 he was Director of Online Information Services at Ask.com, and is currently a contributing editor at Search Engine Land.