May 16, 2022

FEDLINK Announces Winners of the 2014 Federal Library and Librarian Awards

Congratulations to all of the winners!


The Federal Library and Information Network (FEDLINK) has announced the winners of its national awards for federal librarianship, which recognize the many innovative ways that federal libraries, librarians and library technicians fulfill the information demands of government, business and scholarly communities and the American public.

FEDLINK will honor the 2014 award winners at the FEDLINK Spring Exposition on May 5, 2015, at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. The names of the winners will remain on permanent display in the FEDLINK offices at the Library of Congress.

The Winners

2014 Federal Library/Information Center of the Year

  • Large Library/Information Center (with a staff of 11 or more federal and/or contract employees): Barr Memorial Library, Fort Knox U.S. Army Garrison, Kentucky
  • Small Library/Information Center (with a staff of 10 or fewer federal and/or contract employees): Darnall Medical Library, Walter Reed National Military Medical Center

2014 Federal Librarian of the Year

  • Richard James King, Branch Chief and Information Architect, National Institutes of Health Library, Bethesda, Maryland

2014 Federal Library Technician of the Year

  • Maria Walls, Library Technician, U.S. Department of Justice, Washington, D.C.

Information about each of these libraries and libraries can be found in the complete announcement. 

About Gary Price

Gary Price ( is a librarian, writer, consultant, and frequent conference speaker based in the Washington D.C. metro area. Before launching INFOdocket, Price and Shirl Kennedy were the founders and senior editors at ResourceShelf and DocuTicker for 10 years. From 2006-2009 he was Director of Online Information Services at, and is currently a contributing editor at Search Engine Land.