May 25, 2022

Scholarly Publishing: “Association of American Publishers (AAP) Names Five Excellence Award Winners For 2020 PROSE Awards”

From AAP:

The Association of American Publishers (AAP) today announced the winners of the PROSE Excellence Awards, which recognize scholarly publications that are best in class in five categories: Biological & Life Sciences, Humanities, Physical Sciences & Mathematics, Reference Works, and Social Sciences.

The PROSE Awards Program’s top prize, the prestigious R.R. Hawkins Award, will be named shortly.


A panel of 19 judges reviewed more than 630 entries to this year’s PROSE Awards program, elevating works that speak to the breadth, depth, and criticality of scholarly publishing. Throughout February, AAP has announced the results of its program, narrowing the field from 157 Finalists to 49 Subject Category winners, to today’s five Excellence Award winners.

2020 PROSE Award Winners For Excellence

PROSE Award for Excellence in Biological & Life Sciences
Clinical Psychopharmacology: Principles and Practice
S. Nassir Ghaemi
Oxford University Press

PROSE Award for Excellence in Humanities
Leonardo da Vinci Rediscovered
Carmen C. Bambach
Yale University Press

PROSE Award for Excellence in Physical Sciences & Mathematics
99 Variations on a Proof
Philip Ording
Princeton University Press

PROSE Award for Excellence in Reference Works
Roman Architecture and Urbanism: From the Origins to Late Antiquity
Fikret Yegül, Diane Favro
Cambridge University Press

PROSE Award for Excellence in Social Sciences
The Cult of the Constitution
Mary Anne Franks
Stanford University Press

Read the Complete Announcement From AAP

See Also: Scholarly Publishing: Association of American Publishers Announces Finalists For 2020 PROSE Awards (February 12, 2020)

About Gary Price

Gary Price ( is a librarian, writer, consultant, and frequent conference speaker based in the Washington D.C. metro area. Before launching INFOdocket, Price and Shirl Kennedy were the founders and senior editors at ResourceShelf and DocuTicker for 10 years. From 2006-2009 he was Director of Online Information Services at, and is currently a contributing editor at Search Engine Land.