January 29, 2022

ALA Announces Winners of 2016 “I Love My Librarian” Award

Congrats to all of the winners!

2016 I Love My Librarian Award Winners

Danielle S. Apfelbaum
New York Institute of Technology
Old Westbury, New York

Andrea Bernard
Tyler Memorial Library
Charlemont, Massachusetts

Olga Valencia Cardenas
Stanislaus County Library
Modesto, California

Elissa Checov
Gwinnett Technical College / Gwinnett County Public Library
Lawrenceville, Georgia

Kathryn Cole
Northside Elementary School
Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Tabatha “Tabby” Farney
University of Colorado, Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs, Colorado

Sherri Ginsberg
Hillsides Library
Pasadena, California

Lia Kharis Hillman
San Francisco Public Library

Jamille Rogers
Marguerite Vann Elementary School
Conway, Arkansas

Roosevelt Weeks, Sr.
Houston Public Library


From the ALA

The librarians were selected from nearly 1,100 nominations submitted by the public detailing how their favorite librarians working in public, school, college, community college or university libraries connected them to information, opportunities and critical technology to help improve the quality of their lives.

“The I Love My Librarian Award is an incredible opportunity to acknowledge librarians as experts and valuable resources, essential to the success of their libraries and communities,” said Julie Todaro, president of the American Library Association (ALA). “As highly educated professionals, librarians are providing library constituents with the tools and knowledge they need to grow and thrive in today’s changing information landscape. The fact that these nominations come from the people they serve gives us heartfelt testimony to the powerful impact librarians make every day through their work and commitment to their profession.”

The 2016 award recipients include a librarian who provides a safe haven and emergency relief services during natural disasters, a librarian who works with students with learning or behavioral challenges and youths in foster care, a librarian who uses her skills as a former chef to teach the community about cooking healthy meals and a librarian who instructs incoming college freshmen on plagiarism and academic integrity.

The Prize

Each winning librarian will receive a $5,000 prize at an award ceremony and reception to be held tonight in New York City. The ceremony is hosted by the philanthropic foundation Carnegie Corporation of New York, which co-sponsors the award along with The New York Public Library and The New York Times. The American Library Association administers the award through its Public Awareness Office, which promotes the value of libraries and librarians.

Additional Info About the I Love My Librarian Award

Learn About Past Winners of the I Love My Librarian Award


About Gary Price

Gary Price (gprice@mediasourceinc.com) is a librarian, writer, consultant, and frequent conference speaker based in the Washington D.C. metro area. Before launching INFOdocket, Price and Shirl Kennedy were the founders and senior editors at ResourceShelf and DocuTicker for 10 years. From 2006-2009 he was Director of Online Information Services at Ask.com, and is currently a contributing editor at Search Engine Land.