May 27, 2022

High Honors! Winners of 2016 National Medal for Museum and Library Service Announced

From IMLS:

2016-04-19_10-05-20The Institute of Museum and Library 2016-04-19_09-45-11Services today announced the 10 recipients of the 2016 National Medal for Museum and Library Service, the nation’s highest honor given to museums and libraries for service to the community. For 22 years, the award has celebrated institutions that respond to societal needs in innovative ways, making a difference for individuals, families, and their communities. The award will be presented at an event in Washington, D.C., on June 1.

The 2016 winners of the National Medal for Museum and Library Service demonstrate impactful programs and services that exceed the expected levels of community outreach. They were selected from 30 finalists across the country nominated for the honor.

The 2016 National Medal recipients are:

  • Brooklyn Public Library (Brooklyn, N.Y.)
  • The Chicago History Museum (Chicago, Ill.)
  • Columbia Museum of Art (Columbia, S.C.)
  • Lynn Meadows Discovery Center for Children (Gulfport, Miss.)
  • Madison Public Library (Madison, Wis.)
  • Mid-America Science Museum (Hot Springs, Ark.)
  • North Carolina State University Libraries (Raleigh, N.C.)
  • Otis Library (Norwich, Conn.)
  • Santa Ana Public Library (Santa Ana, Calif.)
  • Tomaquag Museum (Exeter, R.I.)

This year’s National Medal recipients show the transforming role of museums and libraries from educational destinations to full-fledged community partners and anchors,” said Dr. Kathryn K. Matthew, director of the Institute of Museum and Library Services. “We are proud to recognize the extraordinary institutions that play an essential role in reaching underserved populations and catalyzing new opportunities for active local involvement.”

After the ceremony, StoryCorps-a national nonprofit dedicated to recording, preserving, and sharing the stories of Americans-will visit each recipient to document stories from the communities of the winning institutions.

See Also: IMLS Announces Finalists For 2016 National Medal for Museum and Library Services Announced (February 23, 2016)

See Also: IMLS Announces Recipients of 2015 National Medal for Museum and Library Service (April 21, 2015)

See Also: List of All National Medal for Museum and Library Services (1994-2013)

About Gary Price

Gary Price ( is a librarian, writer, consultant, and frequent conference speaker based in the Washington D.C. metro area. Before launching INFOdocket, Price and Shirl Kennedy were the founders and senior editors at ResourceShelf and DocuTicker for 10 years. From 2006-2009 he was Director of Online Information Services at, and is currently a contributing editor at Search Engine Land.