May 27, 2022

IMLS Announces Finalists For 2016 National Medal for Museum and Library Services Announced

From the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS):

2016-02-23_08-54-56The Institute of Museum and Library Services today announced 30 finalists for the 2016 National Medal for Museum and Library Service. The National Medal is the nation’s highest honor given to museums and libraries for service to the community. For 22 years, the award has celebrated institutions that demonstrate extraordinary and innovative approaches to public service and are making a difference for individuals, families, and communities.


IMLS is encouraging those who have visited finalist libraries and museums to share their story on the IMLS Facebook page. To Share Your Story, please visit

The National Medal winners will be named later this spring, and representatives from winning institutions will travel to Washington, D.C., to be honored in a White House ceremony.

The Finalists


  • Brooklyn Public Library (Brooklyn, New York)
  • Dallas Public Library (Dallas, Texas)
  • Haines Borough Public Library (Haines, Alaska)
  • Illinois Fire Service Institute Library (Champaign, Illinois)
  • James E. Brooks Library at Central Washington University (Ellensburg, Washington)
  • Juneau Public Libraries (Juneau, Alaska)
  • Kitsap Regional Library (Bremerton, Washington)
  • Longmont Public Library (Longmont, Colorado)
  • Madison Public Library (Madison, Wisconsin)
  • North Carolina State University Libraries (Raleigh, North Carolina)
  • Otis Library (Norwich, Connecticut)
  • Richland Library (Columbia, South Carolina)
  • San Mateo County Libraries (SMCL) (San Mateo, California)
  • Santa Ana Public Library (Santa Ana, California)
  • Terrebonne Parish Library System (Houma, Louisiana)


  • Chicago History Museum (Chicago, Illinois)
  • Children’s Museum Tucson (Tucson, Arizona)
  • Columbia Museum of Art (Columbia, South Carolina)
  • Dallas Holocaust Museum (Dallas, Texas)
  • The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art (Amherst, Massachusetts)
  • Fitchburg Art Museum (Fitchburg, Massachusetts)
  • Honolulu Museum of Art (Honolulu, Hawaii)
  • Imagination Station, Toledo’s Science Center (Toledo, Ohio)
  • Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum (Wausau, Wisconsin)
  • Lynn Meadows Discovery Center for Children (Gulfport, Mississippi)
  • Mid-America Science Museum (Hot Springs, Arkansas)
  • Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History (Santa Cruz, California)
  • Nantucket Historical Association (Nantucket, Massachusetts)
  • Tomaquag Museum (Exeter, Rhode Island)
  • Whitney Museum of American Art (New York, New York)

Read the Complete Announcement

Direct to 2016 IMLS Medal Finalist Page

See Also: Learn More About the Nomination Process

See Also: IMLS Announces Recipients of 2015 National Medal for Museum and Library Service (April 21, 2015)

See Also: List of All National Medal for Museum and Library Services (1994-2013)

About Gary Price

Gary Price ( is a librarian, writer, consultant, and frequent conference speaker based in the Washington D.C. metro area. Before launching INFOdocket, Price and Shirl Kennedy were the founders and senior editors at ResourceShelf and DocuTicker for 10 years. From 2006-2009 he was Director of Online Information Services at, and is currently a contributing editor at Search Engine Land.