May 26, 2022

IMLS Announces 30 Finalists for 2015 National Medal for Museum and Library Service Announced

Congratulations to the 15 libraries and 15 museums announced as finalists today!

From IMLS:

The Institute of Museum and Library Services today announced 30 finalists for the National Medal for Museum and Library Service. The National Medal is the nation’s highest honor given to museums and libraries for service to the community.

For 21 years, the award has celebrated institutions that demonstrate extraordinary and innovative approaches to public service to make a difference for individuals, families, and communities.

The National Medal winners will be named later this spring, and representatives from winning institutions will travel to Washington, D.C. to be honored at the National Medal award ceremony.

Finalists For 2015 National Medal for Museum and Library Service


  • Brooklyn Public Library (Brooklyn, New York)
  • Cecil County Public Library (Elkton, Maryland)
  • Craig Public Library (Craig, Alaska)
  • Embudo Valley Library and Community Center (Dixon, New Mexico)
  • Illinois Fire Service Institute Library (Champaign, Illinois)
  • Los Angeles Public Library (Los Angeles, California)
  • Madison Public Library (Madison, Wisconsin)
  • Mid-Columbia Libraries (Kennewick, Washington)
  • Middle Country Public Library (Centereach, New York)
  • Phoenix Public Library (Phoenix, Arizona)
  • Terrebonne Parish Library System (Houma, Louisiana)
  • The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture (New York, New York)
  • The Westport Library (Westport, Connecticut)
  • Tulsa City-County Library (Tulsa, Oklahoma)
  • University of North Texas Libraries’ Portal to Texas History (Denton, Texas)


  • Amazement Square (Lynchburg, Virginia)
  • Tuckerton Seaport & Baymen’s Museum (Tuckerton, New Jersey)
  • Chabot Space & Science Center(Oakland, California)
  • Children’s Museum of Brownsville (Brownsville, Texas)
  • The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art (Amherst, Massachusetts)
  • Louisiana Children’s Museum (New Orleans, Louisiana)
  • Museum of Northern Arizona (Flagstaff, Arizona)
  • Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science (Miami, Florida)
  • Nantucket Historical Association (Nantucket, Massachusetts)
  • New York Hall of Science (Queens, New York)
  • Phipps Conservatory and Botanical Gardens (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)
  • The Tech Museum of Innovation (San Jose, California)
  • The Strong (Rochester, New York)
  • Gladys Porter Zoo (Brownsville, Texas)
  • The Wild Center (Tupper Lake, New York)

Share your story about the 2015 finalists on Facebook

Direct to Full Text of IMLS Announcement

Learn More About the National Medal for Museum and Library Service

About Gary Price

Gary Price ( is a librarian, writer, consultant, and frequent conference speaker based in the Washington D.C. metro area. Before launching INFOdocket, Price and Shirl Kennedy were the founders and senior editors at ResourceShelf and DocuTicker for 10 years. From 2006-2009 he was Director of Online Information Services at, and is currently a contributing editor at Search Engine Land.