May 17, 2022

ARL Elects New Board Members and Duke University’s Deborah Jakubs Begins Term as President

From Today’s Announcement:

Deborah Jakubs, the Rita DiGiallonardo Holloway university librarian and vice provost for library affairs at Duke University, began a one-year term as president of the Association of Research Libraries (ARL) on Wednesday, October 8, 2014, during the ARL Membership Meeting in Washington, DC. Jakubs succeeds Carol Pitts Diedrichs, vice provost and director of university libraries, the Ohio State University, as ARL president. Diedrichs continues to serve as a member of both the ARL Board of Directors and the ARL Executive Committee as past president.

Also on October 8, the ARL membership ratified the Board’s election of Larry Alford, chief librarian at the University of Toronto, as ARL vice president/president-elect.

Three new Board members were elected by the membership to serve three-year terms: Susan Gibbons, university librarian, Yale University; Bonnie MacEwan, dean of libraries, Auburn University; and John Wilkin, the Juanita J. and Robert E. Simpson dean of libraries and university librarian, the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Additionally, Ann Thornton, the Andrew W. Mellon director, the New York Public Library, was elected to serve a one-year term that was open due to a retirement.

Continuing elected members of the Board are: Mary Case, university librarian and dean of libraries, the University of Illinois at Chicago; Thomas Hickerson, vice provost and university librarian, the University of Calgary; Richard E. Luce, dean of university libraries, professor and Peggy V. Helmerich chair, and associate vice president for research, Norman Campus, the University of Oklahoma; and Mary Ann Mavrinac, vice provost and Andrew H. and Janet Dayton Neilly dean of the River Campus Libraries, the University of Rochester.

Also serving on the Board in ex officio capacities are: David H. Carlson, dean of university libraries, Sterling C. Evans chair, Texas A&M University; Jeffrey L. Horrell, dean of libraries and librarian of the college, Dartmouth College; Brian E. C. Schottlaender, the Audrey Geisel university librarian, the University of California, San Diego; and Elliott Shore, executive director, ARL.

The Board of Directors is the governing body of the Association and represents the interests of ARL member libraries in directing the business of the Association, including establishing operating policies, budgets, and fiscal control; modifying the ARL mission and objectives; and representing ARL to the community.

About Gary Price

Gary Price ( is a librarian, writer, consultant, and frequent conference speaker based in the Washington D.C. metro area. Before launching INFOdocket, Price and Shirl Kennedy were the founders and senior editors at ResourceShelf and DocuTicker for 10 years. From 2006-2009 he was Director of Online Information Services at, and is currently a contributing editor at Search Engine Land.