July 4, 2015

IMLS Announces Recipients of 2013 National Medal for Museum and Library Service


From the Institute for Museum and Library Services: The Institute of Museum and Library Services today announced the recipients of the 2013 National Medal for Museum and Library Service. The National Medal is the nation’s highest honor conferred on museums and libraries for service to the community and celebrates institutions that make a difference for […]

Canadian Library Association Announces 2012 Award Winning Books for Children and Young Adults

From Canadian Library Association Announcements: 1. CLA Book of the Year for Children Award Winner (PDF) From a superb collection of children’s literature produced by Canadian authors and publishers in 2011, the Canadian Library Association/Association canadienne des bibliotheques (CLA/ACB) has selected its 2012 winning title for the Book of the Year for Children Award. This […]

The NPR Library Wins ALA/Information Today Library of the Future Award


Congratulations to Lara Soto-Barra and all of our friends at the NPR Library located only a few miles from us here in D.C. Score one for media libraries and librarians! From ALA: The American Library Association has named the Artemis training project from the NPR library the 2012 winner of the ALA/Information Today, Inc. Library […]

G. Sayeed Choudhury Named Recipient of 2012 Frederick G. Kilgour Award for Research in Library Technology

From an OCLC Announcement: The award is given for research relevant to the development of information technologies, especially work which shows promise of having positive and substantive impact on any aspect(s) of the publication, storage, retrieval and dissemination of information, or the processes by which information and data is manipulated and managed. OCLC and the […]

JHU's Winston Tabb is the Winner of ALA's 2012 Patterson Copyright Award Winner

via ALA’s District Dispatch: Winston Tabb, Dean of Libraries and Museums at Johns Hopkins University is the 2012 recipient of the American Library Association’s L. Ray Patterson Copyright Award: In Support of Users’ Rights. Mr. Tabb was appointed to the National Board of the Institute of Library and Museum Services (IMLS) by President Obama in […]

Carnegie Corporation of New York/New York Times I Love My Librarian Award Winners Announced

Congrats to the winners and those nominated! From ALA: Yesterday, 10 librarians were recognized for service to their communities, schools and campuses as winners of the Carnegie Corporation of New York/New York Times I Love My Librarian Award. More than 1,700 library patrons nationwide nominated a librarian.  The 10 award recipients are: Venetia V. Demson […]

Details Now Available: "Nominate a Librarian for the Carnegie Corporation of New York/New York Times I Love My Librarian Award" (2011)

From an ALA News Release***: Library supporters nationwide are encouraged to nominate a librarian for the 2011 Carnegie Corporation of New York/New York Times I Love My Librarian Award. The award recognizes the accomplishments of librarians in public, school, college, community college and university libraries for their efforts to improve the lives of people in […]

Winners of the 2010 Federal Library of the Year, Federal Librarian of the Year, and Federal Library Technician of the Year Announced

From a FLICC/Library of Congress Announcement: The Federal Library and Information Center Committee (FLICC) has announced the winners of its national awards for federal librarianship, which recognize the many innovative ways that federal libraries, librarians and library technicians fulfill the information demands of government, business and scholarly communities, and the American public. FLICC will honor […]

Congrat's Peter! Peter Suber Wins ALA's L. Ray Patterson Copyright Award

Before we share a portion of the official ALA announcement about Peter Suber winning the Patterson Award we want to commend ALA’s OITP on their choice. Peter Suber’s work has a lot to do with the increased attention that open access publishing has received during the past several years. Attention is one thing but Peter […]