December 19, 2014

New Online: ACRL Releases Second Part of Draft Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education

share save 171 16 New Online: ACRL Releases Second Part of Draft Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education

From the Association of College & Research Libraries:

ACRL’s Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education Task Force has released the second part of their initial draft of the association’s Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education.

[Clip]

The second part of the initial draft of the new Framework includes two additional threshold concepts. In response to some of the feedback the Task Force has received on the first part of the initial draft, released February 20, they have tried something new with one threshold concept. In the section on Possible Assignments/Assessments, you will find indicators of level and type of instruction, and connections with other threshold concepts or topics of instruction. The task force encourages your feedback on this trial as it will help them with the revised draft, expected in early June.

We encourage you to provide feedback on both parts of the initial draft by 5pm Central on Tuesday, April 15, 2014, via an online form. Additionally, you can share your perspective on the initial draft during one of these upcoming online open forums:

  • Friday, April 4, 2014, 11am Pacific/12pm Mountain/1pm Central/2pm Eastern
  • Thursday, April 17, 2014, 8am Pacific/9am Mountain/10am Central/11am Eastern

Registration Info

Draft Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education

Direct to Part II of Draft (8 pages; PDF)

Direct to Part I of Draft (21 pages; PDF)

share save 171 16 New Online: ACRL Releases Second Part of Draft Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education
Gary Price About Gary Price

Gary Price (gprice@mediasourceinc.com) is a librarian, writer, consultant, and frequent conference speaker based in the Washington D.C. metro area. Before launching INFOdocket, Price and Shirl Kennedy were the founders and senior editors at ResourceShelf and DocuTicker for 10 years. From 2006-2009 he was Director of Online Information Services at Ask.com, and is currently a contributing editor at Search Engine Land.