December 11, 2017

EPIC Reports: "Facebook Timeline Changes User Privacy Settings. Again."

UPDATE: According to Inside Facebook  the Timeline opt-in period will last for a “few” weeks BUT:

From the time users activate the new profile, they will have seven days to review their content before anyone else will see it.

From the Electronic Privacy Information Center (EPIC) Web Site:

Without user consent, Facebook announced today that it would post archived user information, making old posts available under Facebook’s current downgraded privacy settings. Users have just a week to clean up their history before Timeline goes live. The surprising announcement follows a recent decision by the Federal Trade Commission which found that the company had engaged in “unfair and deceptive” trade practices when it changed the privacy settings of its users.

See Also: More From EPIC About Privacy

See Also: Introducing Facebook Timeline (via Facebook)

See Also: Timeline Now Available on Mobile

See Also: Facebook makes it easier to get all sentimental with Timeline, but please be careful (via Ottawa Citizen)

See Also: Facebook Timeline goes live: Gives users seven-day grace (via ZDNet)

The Timeline is live for those who wish to opt-in today, it will give users of the world’s largest social network one week from when they activate the new profile before the Timeline kicks into gear.

Gary Price About Gary Price

Gary Price (gprice@mediasourceinc.com) is a librarian, writer, consultant, and frequent conference speaker based in the Washington D.C. metro area. Before launching INFOdocket, Price and Shirl Kennedy were the founders and senior editors at ResourceShelf and DocuTicker for 10 years. From 2006-2009 he was Director of Online Information Services at Ask.com, and is currently a contributing editor at Search Engine Land.

Share